Rant #1 – Why do some pregnant women brag about drinking alcohol?

I am going to start off by saying while I have not yet been graced with the gift of a child, I still know common sense having raised babies and young children (plus some if this is just COMMON SENSE). I was reading posts and articles on one of my favorite baby sites called babycenter when I come across a rather scary trend of posts… pregnant women stating (some bragging about having NO guilt) that they have been drinking alcohol or “sneaking stiff bourbons” while pregnant and FULLY AWARE they are indeed growing a baby inside them. First off, WHAT THE FUCK?!!?!!? Why are so many pregnant women willing to openly admit them are consuming alcohol, and some of these women admit to drink more than “just” wine or beer. I then proceeded to read the rest of the posts. I come to find out it was a blogging area for pregnant women to post what they were consuming that they know is unhealthy for their child. Now let me just say this – I get it. There are TONS of restrictions on what pregnant women can eat, drink, consume, do, bathe in, etc. I also get cravings happen. HOWEVER, some of these “no-nos” as they were calling them (as if they were trying to lessen the blow and pretty their admission up) were there because it is a HIGH RISK health risk. Cigarettes and alcohol being the main ones. There were many others on that list but I won’t go too much into detail (but let’s just say this… the reason you cannot eat RAW FISH is due to the fact that you are at HIGHER RISK for salmonella, you should stay away from caffeine because it can cause defects in your child later on, not to mention make you more jittery than normal. Also is it best to stay away from ANY raw foods like cookie dough or eggs because again, salmonella or bacteria). Why is it women are willing to risk Fetal Alcohol Syndrome just for a stupid vice such as alcohol… ONE DRINK is all it takes. Your child may be PERFECTLY healthy and still have F.A.S. Look at their facial construction… is it a little off? Does it fit the classifications? Does your child get frustrated easily, trouble focusing? Again, the signs and symptoms of F.A.S. may not be noticeable or there may be none at all, but is it really worth it? Just because your child “is perfectly fine” doesn’t really mean they are, or maybe you were just very lucky. Either way, I hope the stupid train quits making stops at your platform, for everyone’s sake.

About abeautifulchaoticmind

Hello there fellow bloggers: My name is Jordan. I was born and raised in Chambersburg, PA. I lived there til June 2013 when I moved to The Sunshine State. This is my first attempt at blogging so please bear with me!

2 responses to “Rant #1 – Why do some pregnant women brag about drinking alcohol?

  1. Seriously? That is absolutely disgusting.

    It bothers me when pregnant women can’t give up smoking, it actually enrages me, but there are women who dont care about drinking? Wow. I want to punch these women. They dont deserve to be mothers.

    • abeautifulchaoticmind

      They all said it like it wasn’t a big deal! I disgusted me… 100% disgusted me. I am glad I am not the only one who thinks these women are crazy! Thanks for your comment 🙂

Leave a Reply

abeautifulchaoticmind

abeautifulchaoticmind

Hello there fellow bloggers: My name is Jordan. I was born and raised in Chambersburg, PA. I lived there til June 2013 when I moved to The Sunshine State. This is my first attempt at blogging so please bear with me!

Verified Services

View Full Profile →

Blog Stats

  • 1,061 Awesome Hits. Thanks and keep 'em coming!

Member of The Internet Defense League

